Community of the Mystic Heart
The Order of Universal Interfaith
Affiliate: Community of the Mystic
In 1999, Brother Dr. Wayne Teasdale wrote his bestselling book, The
Mystic Heart: Discovering a Universal Spirituality in the World's Religions.
In this book he called for the creation of a Universal Order of Sannyasa to
be the home for the new Age of Interspirituality.  After he died, his
disciples created the organization called  "
InterSpiritual Dialogue in
Action" to keep alive his vision.  In November 2009, ISDnA and the Order
of Universal Interfaith (OUnI) entered into discussion to create an
autonomous community within OUnI that would be the Universal Order.  
On January 9, 2010, we co-created the Universal Order of Sannyasa  which
was renamed the
Community of the Mystic Heart in May 2010.  All
members of CMH have an optional "canonical stature*" from OUnI that will
give them access to our entire community.  There are nine vows required for
those who will receive the "transmission" of the Mystic Heart community:

Vows of the
Community of the Mystic Heart (from Wayne Teasdale, The
Mystic Heart,”the Nine Elements of a Universal Spirituality”)

l.  I vow to actualize and live according to my full moral and ethical

2. I vow to live in solidarity with the cosmos and all living beings

3. I vow to live in nonviolence

4. I vow to live in humility

5. I vow to embrace a daily spiritual practice

6. I vow to cultivate mature self-knowledge

7. I vow to live a life of simplicity

8. I vow to live a life of selfless service and compassionate action

9. I vow to express the deepest realization of my inner practice through the
prophetic call to work for justice, compassion and world transformation

Those who take these vows will be presented with a saffron cord to wear
around their neck (tied once to show the "binding" to the vows) to wear as a
symbol of these vows along with a saffron ribbon with the
Touch of the
Divine pin.

The CMH has lined up a group of well known spiritual leaders to serve as
an auxiliary or advisory group.  These spiritual people include

Andrew Harvey
Lama Surya Das
Swami Parameshananda
Swami Vidyananda
Ken Wilber
Dr. Diane Berke, CMH
Michael Pergola, CMH
Rev. Dr. Joyce Liechenstein, CMH OUnI
Father Thomas Keating
J.J. and Desiree Hurtak
Pir Zia Inyat-Khan
H.H. Sai Maa Lakshimi Devi
Nina Meyerhof
Rev. Dr. Thomas Downes, CMH OUnI
Rev. Dr. Kurt Johnson, CMH OUnI  (CMH Administrator)

If you are interested in taking the vows of the modern sannyasi, then fill
out the "
join" link of this website and make sure you answer "Yes" to the
"Join Mystic Heart community" question on that page to begin the process.

Please learn more about this spiritual practice community at the official
website at:

*Interfaith or Interspiritual Cleric and Minister, Celebrant, or Aspirant;
Wisdom-Keeper; and, Wayfayer (lay monk).
Dr. Kurt Johnson, CMH Administrator
prepares to anoint Shaman Dorothy Cunha
(OUnI Wisdom Keeper) into the Community
of the Mystic Heart ( called the Universal
Order of Sannyasa at that time).
Swami Vidyananda offers the charge to the
path of Sannyasi to the new members of the
Universal Order of Sannyasa on January 9,
2010 in Washington, DC.